### **Electoral Reform Society**

Minutes of the **2018 Annual General Meeting** of the Electoral Reform Society held on Saturday 01 December 2018 at Coin Street Neighbourhood Centre in London.

### **Members present:**

Stephen Johnson Ian Scott Fabian Breckels Rory Bruce John Lipetz Keith Sharp John Chadwick David Mathieson Martin Smith Keith Chesterton Virginia Morck Julia Smith Philip Cole Charles Nelson Ben Stanford Michael Cox Bruce Nixon Stuart Thomas Abigail Emery Iain Phillips Owen Trimmer Barry Grimes Tony Price Jon Walsh Laurie Hedge Kerri Prince Kate West Peter Hirst Ken Ritchie Mike Wilson Darren Hughes Mike Roberts **David Wolfson** Ian Huntingford David Schley Gesine Zuchanke

Elcena Jeffers

### **Apologies for absence:**

Apologies were received from Sheila Abrams, Lewis Anderson, Colin Buchanan, Philip Budd, Victor Chamberlain, Danny Davis, Stuart Eels, Corinne Firket, John Garton Jones, Richard Gosling, Bob Howes, Sara Hyde, Iris Jefferies, Maureen Jethwa, Anne Johns, Rosalind Kent, Nick Knight, Evelyn Knowles, Avril Landay, Annette Lawson, Tim Oates, Rob Peachey, Ronald Pearse, Pat Tarttelin, Mike Vickers, Erik Williams

# 1. Minutes of the 2017 AGM and receiving and adopting the Financial Statements for the year to 31 Dec 2017

- 1.1 The Chair asked members to accept these minutes as an accurate record. The minutes were AGREED nem con.
- 1.2 The Treasurer presented the Financial Statements alongside Jane Marshall, Partner at BHP Chartered Accountants and no questions were raised from the floor. The Chair asked members to adopt the Financial Statements. This was AGREED nem con.
- 1.3 Questions were taken from members regarding the recent sale of the Society's shares in Electoral Reform Services Limited and what plans were in place to ringfence and safeguard the funds for the future. Members in attendance expressed concern that the proceeds from sale should not be spent by the Society but rather maintained as a protected endowment in order to protect the long-term future of the ERS. The Chair agreed and responded that plans were being considered to ensure protection of the new fund.

## 2. Appointment of Auditors

2.1 The Chair put it to members that BHP Chartered Accountants be reappointed as the Society's auditors for 2018-19. This was AGREED nem con.

## 3. AOB

3.1 The Chair thanked all members and supporters in attendance who contributed to the day. Thanks were also formally expressed to staff and Council for their hard work throughout the year.

The AGM was closed at 16.05